Projects

All
No Project Number and Title Lead Country Coordinator PMO TO Project Duration
52 RAS0035
Management of Technical Cooperation among Developing Countries
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias 2003-2008
51 RAS0038
Role of Nuclear Power and Other Energy Options in Competitive Electricity Markets (RCA)
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Mr Ahmed Irej Jalal 2003-2007
50 RAS0041
Tracing Future Sustainable Paths through Nuclear and Other Energy Options (RCA)
Mr Man Ki Lee
Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute (KAERI)
Korea, Republic of

Tel. +82 42 868 2145
Fax. +82 42 861 7521
E-mail : mklee@kaeri.re.kr
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Mr Ahmed Irej Jalal 2005-2008
49 RAS0045
Formulation of Sustainable Energy Development Strategies in the Context of Climate Change (RCA)
Mr Man Ki Lee
Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute (KAERI)
Korea, Republic of

Tel. +82 42 868 2145
Fax. +82 42 861 7521
E-mail : mklee@kaeri.re.kr
Mr Jeong Kong Lee

J.K.Lee@iaea.org
Mr Ahmed Irej Jalal
Ms Asami Miketa

irej.jalal@gmail.com / asamiketa@gmail.com
2007-2008
48 RAS0048
Management of Technical Cooperation among Developing Countries (RCA)
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias

dias@elect.mrt.ac.lk
2007-2008
47 RAS4022
Improvement of Research Reactor Operation and Utilization, Phase II (RCA)
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Mr Shriniwas Krishnarao Paranjpe 2003-2007
46 RAS4024
Radioisotope Production and Neutron Beam Applications (RCA)
Mr Byung Jin Jun
Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute (KAERI)
Korea, Republic of

Tel. +82 42 868 8493
Fax. +82 42 868-3681
E-mail : bjjun@kaeri.re.kr
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Mr Shriniwas Krishnarao Paranjpe
Mr Maroor Raghavan Ambikalmajan Pillai
2005-2008
45 RAS4026
Adding Value to Materials through Irradiation with Neutrons (RCA)
Mr Byung Jin Jun
Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute (KAERI)
Korea, Republic of

Tel. +82 42 868 8493
Fax. +82 42 868 3681
E-mail : bjjun@kaeri.re.kr
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Danas Ridikas

D.Ridikas@iaea.org
2007-2010
44 RAS5035
Improving Animal Productivity and Reproductive Efficiency (RCA)
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias 1999-2007
43 RAS5039
Restoration of Soil Fertility and Sustenance of Agricultural Productivity (RCA)
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Mr Gerd Dercon 2001-2008
42 RAS5040
Enhancement of Genetic Diversity in Food, Pulses, and Oil Crops and Establishment of Mutant Germplasm Network (RCA)
Dr S F D Souza
India
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Mr Qingyao . Shu
Ms Yvonne Rosaline Lokko
2001-2008
41 RAS5041
Production of Foot and Mouth Disease Antigen and Antibody ELISA Reagent Kit (RCA)
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Mr John Crowther 2001-2007
40 RAS5042
Application of Food Irradiation for Food Security, Safety, and Trade (RCA)
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Ms Wilma Tatiana Rubio Cabello 2001-2007
39 RAS5043
Development of Sustainable Land Use and management Strategies for Controlling Soil Erosion and Improving Soil and Water Quality
Mr LI Yong
Inst. of Agro- Environment and Sustainable Development
Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences
Peoples’ Republic of China

Tel. +86 10 62137112
Fax. +86 10 62137112
E-mail : yongli32@hotmail.com
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Gerd Dercon

G.Dercon@iaea.org
2005-2010
38 RAS5044
Integrated Approach for Improving Livestock Production Utilizing Indigenous Resources and Conserving Environment
Prof. A.S. Nanda
India
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias

dias@elect.mrt.ac.lk
Mr Mario Geronimo Garcia Podesta
Mr Edwin Nicholas Odongo

M.Garcia-Podesta@iaea.org / E.Odongo@iaea.org
2005-2009
37 RAS5045
Improvement of Crop Quality and Stress Tolerance for Sustainable Crop Production Using Mutation Techniques and Biotechnology
Mr Liu Luxiang
Institute of Crop Sciences, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences
Peoples’ Republic of China

Tel. +86 10 62122719
Fax. +86 10 68975212
E-mail : luxiang@263.net.cn
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Stephan Nielen
Mr Pierre Jean Laurent Lagoda

S.Nielen@iaea.org / P.J.L.Lagoda@iaea.org
2007-2010
36 RAS5046
Novel Applications of Food Irradiation Technology for Improving Socio-economic Development
Ms Gao Meixu
Institute for Application of Atomic Energy, Atomic Energy
Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences
Peoples’ Republic of China

Tel. +86 10 62815971
Fax. +86 10 62895356
E-mail : meixugao@21cn.com
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Carl Michael Blackburn
Mr David Henry Byron

C.Blackburn@iaea.org / D.H.Byron@iaea.org
2007-2010
35 RAS6029
Distance-assisted Training for Nuclear Medicine Technicians
Dr Brian Hutton
Institute of Nuclear Medicine
University College, London Hospitals NHS Trust
Australia

Tel. +44 20 7380 9392
Fax. +44 20 7436 0603
E-mail : brian.hutton@uclh.nhs.uk
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Maurizio Dondi
Mr Rethy Kieth Chhem

mauriziodondi@yahoo.it / R.Chhem@iaea.org
1997-2009
34 RAS6033
Distance Learning in Radiation Oncology
Dr M. Barton
Australia
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias

dias@elect.mrt.ac.lk
Mr Jan Wondergem

J.Wondergem@lumc.nl
1999-2009
33 RAS6036
Management of Liver Cancer Using Transarterial Radioconjugate Therapy (RCA)
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Mr Maurizio Dondi
Mr Naoyuki Watanabe
2003-2007
32 RAS6037
Quality Assurance for Treatment of Cervix Cancer by Radiotherapy
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Mr Eduardo Rosenblatt 2003-2009
31 RAS6038
Strengthening Medical Physics through Education and Training
Dr John Drew
Institute of Medical Physics
The University of Sydney
NSW 2006
Australia

Tel. +61 2 9899 5631
E-mail : john.drew@internode.on.net
Mr Mykola Kurylchyk

M.Kurylchyk@iaea.org
Mr Ahmed Meghzifene

A.Meghzifene@iaea.org
2003-2016
30 RAS6039
Use of Radiosynovectomy in the Management of Patients Suffering from Painful Joint Disorders (RCA)
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Mr Maurizio Dondi
Mr Naoyuki Watanabe
Mr John J Zaknun
2003-2007
29 RAS6040
Improvement in Quality of Radiotherapy for Frequent Cancers in the Region
Dr Takashi Nakano
Professor
Department of Radiation Oncology
Gunma University Graduate School of Medicine
Japan

Tel. +81 27 220 8380
Fax. +81 27 220 8397
E-mail : tnakano@med.gunma-u.ac.jp
Mr Jeong Kong Lee

J.K.Lee@iaea.org
Mr Eduardo Hernan Zubizarreta
Mr Ian Donald Mclean

E.Zubizarreta@iaea.org / I.Mclean@iaea.org
2005-2009
28 RAS6041
Prevention of Osteoporosis and Promotion of Bone Mass in Asian Populations using a Food-based Approach
Dr Warren T K Lee
Faculty of Medicine
Department of Orthopaedics & Traumatology
Chinese University of Hong Kong
Peoples’ Republic of China

Tel. +852 2632 3309
Fax. +852 2637 7889
E-mail : wtklee@cuhk.edu.hk
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Ms Lena Margareta Davidsson

L.Davidsson@iaea.org
2005-2010
27 RAS6042
Tumor Imaging Using Radioisotopes
Dr Shuji Tanada
Professor
Radiology
IUHW Mita Hospital
1-4-3 Mita, Minato-ku, Tokyo 108-8329
Japan

Tel. +81 3 3451 8121
Fax. +81 3 3454 0067
E-mail : tanada@iuhw.ac.jp
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Maurizio Dondi

mauriziodondi@yahoo.it
2005-2008
26 RAS6048
Application of High-Precision 3D Radiotherapy for Predominant Cancers in the RCA region
Mr Takashi Nakano
Professor
Department of Radiation Oncology
Gunma University Graduate School of Medicine
Japan

Tel. +81 27 220 8380
Fax. +81 27 220 8397
E-mail : tnakano@med.gunma-u.ac.jp
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Eduardo Hernan Zubizarreta
Mr Jacob Van Dyk
Ms Joanna Izewska

E.Zubizarreta@iaea.org / J.Van-Dyk@iaea.org / J.Izewska@iaea.org
2007-2008
25 RAS6049
Strengthening Clinical Applications of PET in RCA Member States
Dr Venkatesh Rangarajan
PETCT, BioImaging Unit
Tata Memorial Centre
India

Tel. +91 22 24177150
Fax. +91 22 24146937
E-mail : drvrangarajan@hotmail.com
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Maurizio Dondi

mauriziodondi@yahoo.it
2007-2009
24 RAS7011
Enhancing the Sustainability of the Marine Coastal Environment (RCA)
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Ms Florence Descroix Comanducci
Mr Ross Anthony Jeffree
2003-2008
23 RAS7013
Improved Information about Urban Air Quality Management (RCA)
Dr Andreas Markwitz
Principal Scientist
GNS Science
National Isotope Centre
New Zealand

Tel. +64 4 570 4785
Fax. +64 4 570 4657
E-mail : a.markwitz@gns.cri.nz
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Ms Najat Mokhtar
Mr Andrzej Antoni Markowicz
Mr S.M. Ziauddin Hyder
2003-2008
22 RAS7015
Characterization and Source Identification of Particulate Air Pollution in the Asian Region
Mr Andreas Markwitz
Principal Scientist
GNS Science
National Isotope Centre
New Zealand

Tel. +64 4 570 4785
Fax. +64 4 570 4657
E-mail : a.markwitz@gns.cri.nz
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Andrzej Antoni Markowicz

markowicza426@gmail.com
2007-2010
21 RAS7016
Establishing a Benchmark for Assessing the Radiological Impact of Nuclear Power Activities on the Marine Environment in the Asia-Pacific region
Mr Ron Szymczak
Tradewind
205/4 Boorima Place, Cronulla, NSW 2230
Australia

Tel. +61 2 9717 9221
Fax. +61 2 9717 9260
E-mail : ron.szymczak@bigpond.com
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Hartmut Nies

H.Nies@iaea.org
2007-2010
20 RAS8084
Isotope Use in Managing and Protecting Drinking Water
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Mr Luis Jesus Araguas Araguas 1999-2008
19 RAS8091
Process Diagnostics and Optimization in Petrochemical Industry (RCA)
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias 2001-2007
18 RAS8092
Investigating Environment and Water Resources in Geothermal Areas (RCA)
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Mr Kshitij Mahadev KULKARNI 2001-2007
17 RAS8093
Use of Isotopes in Dam Safety and Dam Sustainability
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Mr Luis Jesus Araguas Araguas
Mr Tuerker Kurttas
2001-2007
16 RAS8094
Optimization of Materials in Industry Using Online Bulk Analysis Techniques (RCA)
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias 2003-2008
15 RAS8095
Improving Regional capacity for Assessment, Planning, and Response to Aquatic Environmental Emergencies

Australia
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Mr Jan Christoph Scholten 2003-2008
14 RAS8096
Modification of Natural Polymers through Radiation Processing (RCA)
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Ms Maria Helena de Oliveira Sampa 2003-2007
13 RAS8097
Application of Isotope Techniques in Groundwater Contamination Studies in Urbanized and Industrialized Areas

Pakistan
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Mr Kshitij Mahadev KULKARNI 2003-2008
12 RAS8098
Radiation Technology for Development of Advanced Materials and for Protection of Health and the Environment (RCA)

Philippines
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Ms Maria Helena de Oliveira Sampa 2005-2008
11 RAS8099
Radiosiotope Technology for Natural Resource Exploration and Exploitation

Malaysia
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias 2005-2008
10 RAS8100
Advanced Industrial Radiography

Malaysia
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias 2005-2008
9 RAS8104
Assessment of Trends in Freshwater Quality Using Environmental Isotopes and Chemical Techniques for Improved Resource Management (RCA)
Dr Manzoor Ahmed Choudhry
Head
Isotope Application Division (IAD)
Pakistan Institute of Nuclear Science and Technology (PINSTECH)
Pakistan

Tel. +92 51 2208038
Fax. +92 51 2207374
E-mail : manzoor@pinstech.org.pk
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Pradeep Kumar Aggarwal
Ms Ravina Brizmohun

P.Aggarwal@iaea.org / rbrizmohun@hotmail.com
2007-2009
8 RAS8105
Development and Application of Advanced Industrial Radiography and Tomography Techniques (RCA)
Dr Gursharan Singh
Head
Isotope Applications Division (IAD)
Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC)
India

Tel. +91 22 2559 3735
Fax. +91 22 2550 5151
E-mail : gsingh@apsara.barc.ernet.in
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
2007-2010
7 RAS8106
Radiation Processing Applications for Health and the Environment (RCA)
Ms Lucille V. Abad
Philippine Nuclear Research Institute
Quezon City
Philippines

Tel. +63 2 920 1646
E-mail : lvabad@pnri.dost.gov.ph
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Ms Maria Helena de Oliveira Sampa

M.H.De-Oliveira-Sampa@iaea.org
2007-2010
6 RAS8107
Raising Productivity in the Coal Minerals and Petrochemical Industries by using Nucleonic Analysis Systems and Radiotracers (RCA)
Dr Jacek Charbucinski

Tel. +61 7 3212 4625
Fax. +61 7 3212 4455
E-mail : jcharbucinski@hotmail.com
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
2007-2010
5 RAS9024
Environmental Radiation Monitoring and Regional Database (RCA)
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Mr Diego Miguel Telleria
Mr Abdulghani SHAKHASHIRO
1999-2007
4 RAS9029
Harmonization of Radiation protection (IV)

Australia
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Mr Hazem Suman
Ms Cynthia Lynn Heinberg
Mr Khammar Mrabit
2003-2008
3 RAS9031
Assessment of Radiological Risks

Australia
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias Mr Diego Miguel Telleria
Mr Volodymyr Berkovskyy
2004-2008