Projects

All
No Project Number and Title Lead Country Coordinator PMO TO Project Duration
23 RAS0048
Management of Technical Cooperation among Developing Countries (RCA)
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Mahendra Prinath Dias

dias@elect.mrt.ac.lk
2007-2008
22 RAS4026
Adding Value to Materials through Irradiation with Neutrons (RCA)
Mr Byung Jin Jun
Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute (KAERI)
Korea, Republic of

Tel. +82 42 868 8493
Fax. +82 42 868 3681
E-mail : bjjun@kaeri.re.kr
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Danas Ridikas

D.Ridikas@iaea.org
2007-2010
21 RAS5043
Development of Sustainable Land Use and management Strategies for Controlling Soil Erosion and Improving Soil and Water Quality
Mr LI Yong
Inst. of Agro- Environment and Sustainable Development
Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences
Peoples’ Republic of China

Tel. +86 10 62137112
Fax. +86 10 62137112
E-mail : yongli32@hotmail.com
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Gerd Dercon

G.Dercon@iaea.org
2005-2010
20 RAS5045
Improvement of Crop Quality and Stress Tolerance for Sustainable Crop Production Using Mutation Techniques and Biotechnology
Mr Liu Luxiang
Institute of Crop Sciences
Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences
Peoples’ Republic of China

Tel. +86 10 62122719
Fax. +86 10 68975212
E-mail : luxiang@263.net.cn
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Stephan Nielen
Mr Pierre Jean Laurent Lagoda

S.Nielen@iaea.org / P.J.L.Lagoda@iaea.org
2007-2010
19 RAS5046
Novel Applications of Food Irradiation Technology for Improving Socio-economic Development
Ms Gao Meixu
Institute for Application of Atomic Energy
Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences
Peoples’ Republic of China

Tel. +86 10 62815971
Fax. +86 10 62895356
E-mail : meixugao@21cn.com
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Carl Michael Blackburn
Mr David Henry Byron

C.Blackburn@iaea.org / D.H.Byron@iaea.org
2007-2010
18 RAS5050
Enhancing Sanitary and Phytosanitary Treatment of Regional Products for Export by Irradiation (RCA)
Mr Peter Leach
Department of Primary Industries and Fisheries
Queensland Horticulture Institute
P.O. Box 652, Cairns 4870, QLD
Australia

Tel. +61 7 73404 6999
E-mail : peter.leach@dpi.qld.gov.au
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Carl Michael Blackburn
Mr David Henry Byron

C.Blackburn@iaea.org / D.H.Byron@iaea.org
2009-2011
17 RAS6038
Strengthening Medical Physics through Education and Training
Mr John Drew
Institute of Medical Physics
The University of Sydney
NSW 2006
Australia

Tel. +61 2 9899 5631
E-mail : john.drew@internode.on.net
Mr Mykola Kurylchyk

M.Kurylchyk@iaea.org
Mr Ahmed Meghzifene

A.Meghzifene@iaea.org
2003-2016
16 RAS6041
Prevention of Osteoporosis and Promotion of Bone Mass in Asian Populations using a Food-based Approach
Dr Warren T K Lee
Faculty of Medicine
Department of Orthopaedics & Traumatology
Chinese University of Hong Kong
Peoples’ Republic of China

Tel. +852 2632 3309
Fax. +852 2637 7889
E-mail : wtklee@cuhk.edu.hk
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Ms Lena Margareta Davidsson

L.Davidsson@iaea.org
2005-2010
15 RAS6048
Application of High-Precision 3D Radiotherapy for Predominant Cancers in the RCA region
Mr Takashi Nakano
Professor
Department of Radiation Oncology
Gunma University Graduate School of Medicine
Japan

Tel. +81 27 220 8380
Fax. +81 27 220 8397
E-mail : tnakano@med.gunma-u.ac.jp
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Eduardo Hernan Zubizarreta
Mr Jacob Van Dyk
Ms Joanna Izewska

E.Zubizarreta@iaea.org / J.Van-Dyk@iaea.org / J.Izewska@iaea.org
2007-2008
14 RAS6049
Strengthening Clinical Applications of PET in RCA Member States
Dr Venkatesh Rangarajan
PETCT, BioImaging Unit
Tata Memorial Centre
India

Tel. +91 22 24177150
Fax. +91 22 24146937
E-mail : drvrangarajan@hotmail.com
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Maurizio Dondi

mauriziodondi@yahoo.it
2007-2009
13 RAS6053
Improving Image Based Radiation Therapy for Common Cancers in the RCA Region
Mr Takashi Nakano
Professor
Department of Radiation Oncology
Gunma University Graduate School of Medicine
Japan

Tel. +81 27 220 8380
Fax. +81 27 220 8397
E-mail : tnakano@med.gunma-u.ac.jp
Mr Massoud Malek

M.Malek@iaea.org
Mr Ahmed Meghzifene

A.Meghzifene@iaea.org
2009-2013
12 RAS7015
Characterization and Source Identification of Particulate Air Pollution in the Asian Region
Dr Andreas Markwitz
Principal Scientist
GNS Science
National Isotope Centre
New Zealand

Tel. +64 4 570 4785
Fax. +64 4 570 4657
E-mail : a.markwitz@gns.cri.nz
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Andrzej Antoni Markowicz

markowicza426@gmail.com
2007-2010
11 RAS7016
Establishing a Benchmark for Assessing the Radiological Impact of Nuclear Power Activities on the Marine Environment in the Asia-Pacific region
Mr Ron Szymczak
Tradewind
205/4 Boorima Place, Cronulla, NSW 2230
Australia

Tel. +61 2 9717 9221
Fax. +61 2 9717 9260
E-mail : ron.szymczak@bigpond.com
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Hartmut Nies

H.Nies@iaea.org
2007-2010
10 RAS7019
Harmonizing Nuclear and Isotopic Techniques for Marine Pollution Management at the Regional Level
Ms Elvira Zuleta Sombrito
Philippine Nuclear Research Institute (PNRI)
Commonwealth Avenue, Diliman, P.O. Box 213, Quezon City 1101
Philippines

Tel. +63 29 201655
Fax. +63 29 201646
E-mail : ezsombrito@pnri.dost.gov.ph
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Michel Warnau
Mr Ross Anthony Jeffree

M.Warnau@iaea.org / ross.jeffree@uts.edu.au
2009-2011
9 RAS7021
Marine benchmark study on the possible impact of the Fukushima radioactive releases in the Asia-Pacific Region
Mr Ron Szymczak
Tradewind
205/4 Boorima Place, Cronulla, NSW 2230
Australia

Tel. +61 405 630 425
E-mail : ron.szymczak@bigpond.com
Mr Sinh Van Hoang

V.Hoang@iaea.org
Ms Iolanda Osvath
Mr Arend Victor Harms

I.Osvath@iaea.org / A.V.Harms@iaea.org
2011-2015
8 RAS8105
Development and Application of Advanced Industrial Radiography and Tomography Techniques (RCA)
Dr Gursharan Singh
Head
Isotope Applications Division (IAD)
Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC)
India

Tel. +91 22 2559 3735
Fax. +91 22 2550 5151
E-mail : gsingh@apsara.barc.ernet.in
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
2007-2010
7 RAS8106
Radiation Processing Applications for Health and the Environment (RCA)
Ms Lucille V. Abad
Philippine Nuclear Research Institute
Quezon City
Philippines

Tel. +63 2 920 1646
E-mail : lvabad@pnri.dost.gov.ph
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Ms Maria Helena de Oliveira Sampa

M.H.De-Oliveira-Sampa@iaea.org
2007-2010
6 RAS8107
Raising Productivity in the Coal Minerals and Petrochemical Industries by using Nucleonic Analysis Systems and Radiotracers (RCA)
Dr Jacek Charbucinski

Tel. +61 7 3212 4625
Fax. +61 7 3212 4455
E-mail : jcharbucinski@hotmail.com
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
2007-2010
5 RAS8108
Assessment of Trends in Freshwater Quality Using Environmental Isotopes and Chemical Techniques for Improved Resource Management
Mr Manzoor Ahmed Choudhry
Head
Isotope Application Division (IAD)
Pakistan Institute of Nuclear Science and Technology (PINSTECH)
Pakistan

Tel. +92 51 2208038
Fax. +92 51 2207374
E-mail : manzoor@pinstech.org.pk
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Pradeep Kumar Aggarwal
Mr Manzoor Ahmad Choudhry

P.Aggarwal@iaea.org / M.Choudhry@iaea.org
2009-2011
4 RAS8109
Supporting Radiation Processing of Polymeric Materials for Agricultural Applications and Environmental Remediation
Mr Mohd Dahlan, Khairul Zaman HJ
Division of Radiation Processing Technology
Malaysian Nuclear Agency
Kompleks MINT, Bangi, 43000 Kajang, Selangor
Malaysia

Tel. +60 3 89250510
Fax. +60 3 89202968
E-mail : khairul@nuclearmalaysia.gov.my
Mr Sinh Van Hoang

V.Hoang@iaea.org
Ms Agnes Safrany
Mr Sunil Sabharwal

A.Safrany@iaea.org / sunsab57@gmail.com
2009-2012
3 RAS8110
Applying Advanced Digital Industrial Radiology and Computed Tomography in Industry and Civil Engineering
Mr Gursharan Singh
Department of Atomic Energy (DAE)
Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC)
Trombay, Mumbai 400 085, Maharashtra
India

Tel. +91 22 2559 3735
Fax. +91 22 2550 5151
E-mail : gsingh@apsara.barc.ernet.
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Patrick Dominique M. Brisset

P.Brisset@iaea.org
2009-2011
2 RAS8111
Diagnosing Industrial Multiphase Systems by Process Visualization using Radiotracers and Sealed Sources
Mr Xiang Gao
Department of Isotopes
China National Nuclear Corp. (CNNC)
P.O. Box 275-104, Beijing 102413
Peoples’ Republic of China

Tel. +86 10 68357881
Fax. +86 10 69358825
E-mail : gaoxiang@ciae.ac.cn
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Patrick Dominique M. Brisset

P.Brisset@iaea.org
2009-2011
1 RAS9042
Sustainability of Regional Radiation Protection Infrastructure (RCA)
Mr Kazuo Sakai
National Institute of Radiological Sciences (NIRS)
4-9-1 Anagawa, Inage-ku, Chiba 263-8555
Japan

Tel. +81 43 2066290
Fax. +81 43 2064134
E-mail : kazsakai@nirs.go.jp
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Ms Virginia Koukouliou
Mr Haridasan Pappinisseri Puthanveedu

V.Koukouliou@iaea.org / H.Pappinisseri-Puthanveedu@iaea.org
2007-2010