Projects

All
No Project Number and Title Lead Country Coordinator PMO TO Project Duration
24 RAS1012
Characterizing and Optimizing Process Dynamics in Complex Industrial Systems Using Radiotracer and Sealed Source Techniques
Mr Iqbal Hussain Khan
Deputy Chief Engineer, Head Industrial Division of Isotope Application
PINSTECH
Pakistan Atomic Energy Commission(PAEC)
Lehtrar Road P.O. Box 1482, Nilore ISLAMABAD 45650
Pakistan

Tel. +92 51 2208031
Fax. +92 51 9248808
Mr Ho Seung Lee

H.Lee@iaea.org
Mr Patrick Dominique M. Brisset

P.Brisset@iaea.org
2012-2014
23 RAS1013
Supporting Advanced Non-Destructive Examination for Enhanced Industrial Safety, Product Quality and Productivity
Dr Gursharan Singh
Head
Isotope Applications Division (IAD)
Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC)
Centre (BARC) Trombay MUMBAI, Maharashtra 400 085
India

Tel. +91 22 2559 3735
Fax. +91 22 2550 5151
E-mail : gsingh@barc.gov.in
Mr Ho Seung Lee

H.Lee@iaea.org
Mr Patrick Dominique M. Brisset

P.Brisset@iaea.org
2012-2014
22 RAS1014
Supporting Radiation Processing for the Development of Advanced Grafted Materials for Industrial Applications and Environmental Preservation
Mr Kamarudin Bin Hashim
Division of Radiation Processing Technology
Malaysian Nuclear Agency
43000 Kajang, Selangor
Malaysia

Tel. +60 3 89282912
Fax. +60 3 89202968
E-mail : kbhashim@nuclearmalaysia.gov.my
Mr Sinh Van Hoang

V.Hoang@iaea.org
Mr Sunil Sabharwal

sunsab57@gmail.com
2012-2016
21 RAS5045
Improvement of Crop Quality and Stress Tolerance for Sustainable Crop Production Using Mutation Techniques and Biotechnology
Mr Liu Luxiang
Institute of Crop Sciences, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences
Peoples’ Republic of China

Tel. +86 10 62122719
Fax. +86 10 68975212
E-mail : luxiang@263.net.cn
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Stephan Nielen
Mr Pierre Jean Laurent Lagoda

S.Nielen@iaea.org / P.J.L.Lagoda@iaea.org
2007-2010
20 RAS5046
Novel Applications of Food Irradiation Technology for Improving Socio-economic Development
Ms Gao Meixu
Institute for Application of Atomic Energy, Atomic Energy
CAAS
Peoples’ Republic of China

Tel. +86 10 62815971
Fax. +86 10 62895356
E-mail : meixugao@21cn.com
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Carl Michael Blackburn
Mr David Henry Byron

C.Blackburn@iaea.org / D.H.Byron@iaea.org
2007-2010
19 RAS5055
Improving Soil Fertility, Land Productivity and Land Degradation Mitigation
Dr Frank Bruhn
Managing Director
Australian Institute of Nuclear Science and Engineering (AINSE)
New Illawarra Road
Australia

Tel. + 61 02 9717 3388
Fax. +61 02 9717 9268
E-mail : frankb@ainse.edu.au
Mr Mykola Kurylchyk

M.Kurylchyk@iaea.org
Mr Gerd Dercon

G.Dercon@iaea.org
2012-2016
18 RAS5056
Supporting Mutation Breeding Approaches to Develop New Crop Varieties Adaptable to Climate Change
Mr Liu Luxiang
Institute of Crop Sciences
Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences
12, Zhongguancun South Street, Beijing, 100081
Peoples’ Republic of China

Tel. +86 10 62122719
Fax. +86 10 68975212
E-mail : luxiang@263.net.cn
Mr Ho Seung Lee

H.Lee@iaea.org
Mr Stephan Nielen
Mr Pierre Jean Laurent Lagoda
Mr Karuppan Sakadevan

.Nielen@iaea.org / P.J.L.Lagoda@iaea.org / K.Sakadevan@iaea.org
2012-2016
17 RAS5057
Implementing Best Practices of Food Irradiation for Sanitary and Phytosanitary Purposes
Ms Gao Meixu
Institute for Application of Atomic Energy
Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences
2, Yuanmingyuan West Road, P.O. Box 5109, Beijing, 100094
Peoples’ Republic of China

Tel. +86 10 62815961
Fax. +86 10 62895356
E-mail : meixugao@21cn.com
Mr Sinh Van Hoang

V.Hoang@iaea.org
Mr Carl Michael Blackburn
Mr David Henry Byron

C.Blackburn@iaea.org / D.H.Byron@iaea.org
2012-2014
16 RAS6038
Strengthening Medical Physics through Education and Training
Dr John Drew
Institute of Medical Physics
The University of Sydney
NSW 2006
Australia

Tel. +61 2 9899 5631
E-mail : john.drew@internode.on.net
Mr Mykola Kurylchyk

M.Kurylchyk@iaea.org
Mr Ahmed Meghzifene

A.Meghzifene@iaea.org
2003-2016
15 RAS6049
Strengthening Clinical Applications of PET in RCA Member States
Dr Venkatesh Rangarajan
PETCT, BioImaging Unit
Tata Memorial Centre
India

Tel. +91 22 24177150
Fax. +91 22 24146937
E-mail : drvrangarajan@hotmail.com
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Maurizio Dondi

mauriziodondi@yahoo.it
2007-2009
14 RAS6053
Improving Image Based Radiation Therapy for Common Cancers in the RCA Region
Mr Takashi Nakano
Professor
Department of Radiation Oncology
Gunma University Graduate School of Medicine
3-39-22 Shouwa-machi
Japan

Tel. +81 27 220 8380
Fax. +81 27 220 8397
E-mail : tnakano@med.gunma-u.ac.jp
Mr Massoud Malek

M.Malek@iaea.org
Mr Ahmed Meghzifene

A.Meghzifene@iaea.org
2009-2013
13 RAS6061
Improving Cancer Management with Hybrid Nuclear Medicine Imaging
Dr Venkatesh Rangarajan
Head
Nuclear Medicine
Tata Memorial Hospital
Parel, Mumbai-400 012
India

Tel. +91 22 24177143
Fax. +91 22 24146937
E-mail : drvrangarajan@hotmail.com
Mr Mykola Kurylchyk

M.Kurylchyk@iaea.org
Mr Ravi Kashyap
Mr Maurizio Dondi
Mr Tarik Becic
Ms Diana Isabel Paez Gutierrez

R.Kashyap@iaea.org / M.Dondi@iaea.org / T.Becic@iaea.org / D.Paez@iaea.org
2012-2014
12 RAS6062
Supporting 3D Image-Guided Brachytherapy Services
Mr Shingo Kato
Department of Radiation Oncology
International Medical Center, Saitama Medical University
1397-1, Yamane, Hidaka, Saitama
Japan

Tel. +81 42 9844531
Fax. +81 42 9844741
E-mail : s_kato@saitama-med.ac.jp
Mr Massoud Malek

M.Malek@iaea.org
Ms Elena Fidarova
Mr Brendan James Healy

E.Fidarova@iaea.org / B.Healy@iaea.org
2012-2015
11 RAS6063
Strengthening the Application of Nuclear Medicine in the Management of Cardiovascular Diseases
Mr Orestes P. Monzon
Nuclear Medicine Department
Philippine Heart Center
East Avenue, 1100 QUEZON CITY
Philippines

Tel. +63 2 9252401
Fax. +63 2 9510159
E-mail : voices4life@gmail.com
Mr Mykola Kurylchyk

M.Kurylchyk@iaea.org
Mr Thomas Neil Pascual

T.Pascual@iaea.org
2012-2014
10 RAS6064
Building Capacity with Distance Assisted Training for Nuclear Medicine Professionals
Ms Heather Elizabeth Patterson
Research Institute for Asia and the Pacific
University of Sydney
SYDNEY, NSW 2006, Manning Road, Old Teachers College, Room 205
Australia

Tel. +61 2 90365148
Fax. + 61 2 93518562
E-mail : heather.patterson@sydney.edu.au
Mr Gashaw Gebeyehu Gebeyehu Wolde

G.G.Wolde@iaea.org
Mr Ravi Kashyap

R.Kashyap@iaea.org
2012-2013
9 RAS6065
Strengthening the Application of Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy to Improve Cancer Treatment
Mr Chul-Koo Cho
Director General
Division of Medical Services
Korea Institute of Radiological and Medical Sciences (KIRAMS)
215-4 Gong Neung Dong, Nowon-Ku, SEOUL
Korea, Republic of

Tel. +82 2 970 2007
Fax. +82 2 9701360
E-mail : chcho@kirams.re.kr
Mr Sinh Van Hoang

V.Hoang@iaea.org
Mr Rajiv Ranjan Prasad
Mr Brendan James Healy

R.R.Prasad@iaea.org / B.Healy@iaea.org
2012-2015
8 RAS6066
Reducing the Shortage of Oncology Professionals through an Applied Sciences of Oncology Course (ASOC)
Mr Michael Barton
Liverpool Hospital
Elizabeth Street, SYDNEY, NSW 2170
Australia

Tel. +61 2 98286541
Fax. +61 2 98286670
E-mail : Michael.Barton@sswahs.nsw.gov.au
Mr Gashaw Gebeyehu Gebeyehu Wolde

G.G.Wolde@iaea.org
Mr Oleg Belyakov

O.Belyakov@iaea.org
2012-2014
7 RAS7015
Characterization and Source Identification of Particulate Air Pollution in the Asian Region
Mr Andreas Markwitz
Principal Scientist
GNS Science
National Isotope Centre
New Zealand

Tel. +64 4 570 4785
Fax. +64 4 570 4657
E-mail : a.markwitz@gns.cri.nz
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Andrzej Antoni Markowicz

markowicza426@gmail.com
2007-2010
6 RAS7016
Establishing a Benchmark for Assessing the Radiological Impact of Nuclear Power Activities on the Marine Environment in the Asia-Pacific region
Mr Ron Szymczak
Tradewind
205/4 Boorima Place, Cronulla, NSW 2230
Australia

Tel. +61 2 9717 9221
Fax. +61 2 9717 9260
E-mail : ron.szymczak@bigpond.com
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Mr Hartmut Nies

H.Nies@iaea.org
2007-2010
5 RAS7021
Marine benchmark study on the possible impact of the Fukushima radioactive releases in the Asia-Pacific Region
Mr Ron Szymczak
Tradewind
205/4 Boorima Place, Cronulla, NSW 2230
Australia

Tel. +61 405 630 425
E-mail : ron.szymczak@bigpond.com
Mr Sinh Van Hoang

V.Hoang@iaea.org
Ms Iolanda Osvath
Mr Arend Victor Harms

I.Osvath@iaea.org / A.V.Harms@iaea.org
2011-2015
4 RAS7022
Applying Isotope Techniques to Investigate Groundwater Dynamics and Recharge Rate for Sustainable Groundwater Resource Management
Mr Muhammad Azam Tasneem
Head
PINSTECH
P.O. Nilore, Islamabad
Pakistan

Tel. +92 51 2208038
Fax. +92 51 9248808
E-mail : azamtasneem@pinstech.org.pk
Mr Sinh Van Hoang

V.Hoang@iaea.org
Mr Manzoor Ahmad Choudhry

M.Choudhry@iaea.org
2012-2015
3 RAS7023
Supporting Sustainable Air Pollution Monitoring Using Nuclear Analytical Technology
Dr Andreas Markwitz
Principal Scientist
National Isotope Centre, GNS Science
30 Gracefield Road, P.O. Box 31-312, LOWER HUTT 5040
New Zealand

Tel. +64 4 570 4785
Fax. +64 4 570 4657
E-mail : a.markwitz@gns.ri.nz
Mr Gashaw Gebeyehu Gebeyehu Wolde

G.G.Wolde@iaea.org
Mr Andreas Germanos Karydas

A.G.Karydas@iaea.org
2012-2015
2 RAS7024
Supporting Nuclear and Isotopic Techniques to Assess Climate Change for Sustainable Marine Ecosystem Management
Ms Adelina Dela Mines-Bulos
Philipine Nuclear Research Institute
Quezon City, Philippines
Philippines

Tel. +632 929 6011
E-mail : ambulos@pnri.dost.gov.ph
Mr Massoud Malek

M.Malek@iaea.org
Mr Marc Hector Trajan Metian

M.Metian@iaea.org
2012-2014
1 RAS9042
Sustainability of Regional Radiation Protection Infrastructure (RCA)
Mr Kazuo Sakai
National Institute of Radiological Sciences (NIRS)
4-9-1 Anagawa, Inage-Ku Chiba
Japan

Tel. +81 43 2066290
Mr Kesrat Sukasam

K.Sukasam@iaea.org
Ms Virginia Koukouliou
Mr Haridasan Pappinisseri Puthanveedu

V.Koukouliou@iaea.org / H.Pappinisseri-Puthanveedu@iaea.org
2007-2010