Projects

All
No Project Number and Title Lead Country Coordinator PMO TO Project Duration
26 RAS6038
Strengthening Medical Physics through Education and Training
Dr John Drew
Institute of Medical Physics,
The University of Sydney
NSW 2006
Australia

Tel. +61-2 9899 5631
E-mail : john.drew@internode.on.net
Mr Mykola Kurylchyk

M.Kurylchyk@iaea.org
Mr Ahmed Meghzifene

A.Meghzifene@iaea.org
2003-2016
25 RAS6072
Strengthening Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy Capability in the Region (RCA)
Mr Takashi Nakano
Department of Radiation Oncology
Gunma University Graduate School of Medicine
3-39-22 Showa-machi, Maebashi-shi, Gunnma, 371-8511
Japan

Tel. +81 27 220 8380
Fax. +81 27 220 8397
E-mail : tnakano@gunma-u.ac.jp
Mr Sinh Van Hoang

V.Hoang@iaea.org
Mr Jose Alfredo Polo Rubio

J.A.Polo-Rubio@iaea.org
2015-2018
24 RAS6065
Strengthening the Application of Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy to Improve Cancer Treatment
Mr Chul-Koo Cho
Director General
Division of Medical Services
Korea Institute of Radiological and Medical Sciences (KIRAMS)
215-4 Gong Neung Dong, Nowon-Ku, Seoul 139-706
Korea, Republic of

Tel. +82 2 970 2007
Fax. +82 2 9701360
E-mail : chcho@kirams.re.kr
Mr Sinh Van Hoang

V.Hoang@iaea.org
Mr Rajiv Ranjan Prasad
Mr Brendan James Healy

R.R.Prasad@iaea.org / B.Healy@iaea.org
2012-2015
23 RAS6053
Improving Image Based Radiation Therapy for Common Cancers in the RCA Region (RCA)
Mr Takashi Nakano
Professor
Department of Radiation Oncology
Gunma University Graduate School of Medicine
Japan

Tel. +81 27 220 8380
Fax. +81 27 220 8397
E-mail : tnakano@med.gunma-u.ac.jp
Mr Massoud Malek

M.Malek@iaea.org
Mr Ahmed Meghzifene

A.Meghzifene@iaea.org
2009-2013
22 RAS0068
Enhancing the Management of the Regional Agreement and Programme (RCA)

Korea, Republic of
Mr Sinh Van Hoang

V.Hoang@iaea.org
Mr Oscar E. Acuna

O.E.Acuna@iaea.org
2014-2015
21 RAS1013
Supporting Advanced Non-Destructive Examination for Enhanced Industrial Safety, Product Quality and Productivity
Mr Gursharan Singh
Associate Director (I) Head
Isotope Application Divistion
Department of Atomic Energy (DAE)
MUMBAI, Maharashtra 400 085
India

Tel. +91 22 2559 3735
Fax. +91 22 2559 3299
E-mail : gsingh@barc.gov.in
Mr Ho-Seung Lee

H.Lee@iaea.org
Mr Patrick Dominique M. Brisset

P.Brisset@iaea.org
2012-2014
20 RAS6077
Strengthening the Effectiveness and Extent of Medical Physics Education and Training (RCA)
Mr Donald McLean
10 Moodie Street, Farrer, Canberra, ACT 2607
Australia
E-mail : Donald.McLean@act.gov.au
Mr Sinh Van Hoang

V.Hoang@iaea.org
2014-2018
19 RAS7024
Supporting Nuclear and Isotopic Techniques to Assess Climate Change for Sustainable Marine Ecosystem Management
Ms Adelina De La Mines-Bulos
Philippine Nuclear Research Institute
Quezon City
Philippines

Tel. +632 929 6011-19 ext. 225/240
E-mail : ambulos@pnri.dost.gov.ph
Mr Massoud Malek

M.Malek@iaea.org
Mr Marc Hector Trajan Metian

M.Metian@iaea.org
2012-2014
18 RAS6062
Supporting 3D Image-Guided Brachytherapy Services
Mr Shingo Kato
Department of Radiation Oncology
International Medical Center
Saitama Medical University
1397-1, Yamane, Hidaka, Saitama,350-1298
Japan

Tel. +81 42 9844531
Fax. +81 42 9844741
E-mail : s_kato@saitama-med.ac.jp
Mr Massoud Malek

M.Malek@iaea.org
Ms Elena Fidarova
Mr Brendan James Healy

E.Fidarova@iaea.org / B.Healy@iaea.org
2012-2015
17 RAS5070
Developing Bioenergy Crops to Optimize Marginal Land Productivity through Mutation Breeding and Related Techniques (RCA)
Mr Soeranto Human
Centre for Application of Isotopes and Radiation Technology (PATIR), National Nuclear Energy Agency
P.O. Box 7002, Jalan Lebak Bulus Raya No.49, Jakarta Selatan
Indonesia

Tel. +62217690709
Fax. +62217691607
E-mail : Soeranto@batan.go.id
Mr Sinh Van Hoang

V.Hoang@iaea.org
Mr Ljupcho Jankuloski
Ms Fatma Sarsu
Ms Lee Kheng Heng
Mr Mohammad Zaman

L.Jankuloski@iaea.org / F.Sarsu@iaea.org / L.Heng@iaea.org / M.Zaman@iaea.org
2015-2018
16 RAS5055
Improving Soil Fertility, Land Productivity and Land Degradation Mitigation
Mr Hendrik Heijnis
Senior Principal Research Scientist
Environmental Radioactivity Measurement Centre, Institute for Environmental Research, Australian Nuc
New Illawarra Road, Lucas Heights Nsw, Sydney
Australia

Tel. +61 2 9717 9086
Fax. +61 (2)97179270
E-mail : hhx@ansto.gov.au
Mr Mykola Kurylchyk

M.Kurylchyk@iaea.org
Mr Gerd Dercon

G.Dercon@iaea.org
2012-2016
15 RAS7021
Marine benchmark study on the possible impact of the Fukushima radioactive releases in the Asia-Pacific Region
Mr Ron Szymczak
Tradewinds
205/4 Boorima Place, Cronulla, NSW 2230
Australia

Tel. +61 405 630 425
E-mail : ron.szymczak@bigpond.com
Mr Sinh Van Hoang

V.Hoang@iaea.org
Ms Iolanda Osvath
Mr Arend Victor Harms

I.Osvath@iaea.org / A.V.Harms@iaea.org
2011-2015
14 RAS6071
Strengthening Radionuclide Therapy for High Impact Cancer Treatment Strategy in Member States of the Regional Cooperative Agreement (RCA)
Mr Sudeep Gupta
Advanced Centre for Treatment, Research & Education in Cancer (ACTREC)
Tata Memorial Centre
PS-305, CRC Building, Sector 22, Kharghar, Navi Mumbai - 4 Maharashtra Mumbai
India

Tel. + 9122 27405034 33
E-mail : Sudeep.gupta@actrec.gov.in
Mr Sinh Van Hoang

V.Hoang@iaea.org
Mr Enrique Estrada Lobato

E.Estrada-Lobato@iaea.org
2015-2018
13 RAS6064
Building Capacity with Distance Assisted Training for Nuclear Medicine Professionals
Ms Heather Elizabeth Patterson
Research Institute for Asia and the Pacific
University of Sydney
Room 205, Old Teachers College, Manning Road, Sydney, NSW 2006
Australia

Tel. +61 2 90365148
Fax. + 61 2 93518562
E-mail : heather.patterson@sydney.edu.au
Mr Gashaw Gebeyehu Gebeyehu Wolde

G.G.Wolde@iaea.org
Mr Ravi Kashyap

R.Kashyap@iaea.org
2012-2013
12 RAS5057
Implementing Best Practices of Food Irradiation for Sanitary and Phytosanitary Purposes
Ms Gao Meixu
Institute for Application of Atomic Energy
Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences (CAAS)
2, Yuanmingyuan West Road, P.O. Box 5109, Beijing, 100094
Peoples’ Republic of China

Tel. +86 10 62815961
Fax. +86 10 62895356
E-mail : meixugao@21cn.com
Mr Sinh Van Hoang

V.Hoang@iaea.org
Mr Carl Micheal Blackburn
Mr David Henry Byron

C.Blackburn@iaea.org / D.H.Byron@iaea.org
2012-2014
11 RAS1012
Characterizing and Optimizing Process Dynamics in Complex Industrial Systems Using Radiotracer and Sealed Source Techniques
Mr Ghiyas-ud-Din
PS, Industrial Application Group, IAD,
PINSTECH, Islamabad
Pakistan

Tel. +92 51 2208031
Fax. +92 51 9248808
E-mail : ghiyas@pinstech.org.pk
Mr Ho-Seung Lee

H.Lee@iaea.org
Mr Patrick Dominique M. Brisset

P.Brisset@iaea.org
2012-2014
10 RAS6076
Improving Cancer Management Through Strengthening the Computed Tomography Cancer Staging Process (RCA)
Mr Kie-Hwan Kim
Korea Cancer Center Hospital; Korea Institute of Radiological and Medical Sciences (KIRAMS)
215-4, Gongneung-Dong, Nowon-Ku, Seoul 139-706
Korea, Republic of

Tel. +82 2 9701252
E-mail : khkim@kirams.re.kr
Mr Ho-Seung Lee

H.Lee@iaea.org
Ms Diana Isabel Paez Gutierrez
Mr Thomas Neil Pascual
Mr Charalampos Delis

D.Paez@iaea.org / T.Pascual@iaea.org / H.Delis@iaea.org
2014-2017
9 RAS6066
Reducing the Shortage of Oncology Professionals through an Applied Sciences of Oncology Course (ASOC)
Mr Michael Barton
Liverpool Hospital
Elizabeth Street, Sydney, NSW 2170
Australia

Tel. +61 2 98286541
Fax. +61 2 98286670
E-mail : Michael.Barton@sswahs.nsw.gov.au
Mr Gashaw Gebeyehu Gebeyehu Wolde

G.G.Wolde@iaea.org
Mr Oleg Belyakov

O.Belyakov@iaea.org
2012-2014
8 RAS6061
Improving Cancer Management with Hybrid Nuclear Medicine Imaging
Mr Venkatesh Rangarajan
Head
Nuclear Medicine
Tata Memorial Hospital
Parel, Mumbai-400 012
India

Tel. +91 22 24177143
Fax. +91 22 24146937
E-mail : drvrangarajan@hotmail.com
Mr Mykola Kurylchyk

M.Kurylchyk@iaea.org
Mr Ravi Kashyap
Mr Maurizio Dondi
Mr Tarik Becic
Ms Diana Isabel Paez Gutierrez

R.Kashyap@iaea.org / M.Dondi@iaea.org / T.Becic@iaea.org / D.Paez@iaea.org
2012-2014
7 RAS1020
Building Capacity for Applications of Advanced Non-Destructive Evaluation Technologies for Enhancing Industrial Productivity (RCA)
Mr Umesh kumar
Head
Industrial Tomography & Instrumentation Section
Isotope Applications and Radiopharmaceuticals Division, BARC
Trombay, Mumbai-400085
India

Tel. +91 22 2559 3275
Fax. +91-22 2550 5151
E-mail : umeshkum@barc.gov.in
Mr Gashaw Gebeyehu Gebeyehu Wolde

G.G.Wolde@iaea.org
Mr Patrick Dominique M. Brisset

P.Brisset@iaea.org
2015-2017
6 RAS1014
Supporting Radiation Processing for the Development of Advanced Grafted Materials for Industrial Applications and Environmental Preservation
Mr Kamarudin Bin Hashim
Division of Radiation Processing Technology
Malaysian Nuclear Agency
43000 Kajang, Selangor
Malaysia

Tel. +60 3 89282912
Fax. +60 3 89202968
E-mail : kbhashim@nuclearmalaysia.gov.my
Mr Sinh Van Hoang

V.Hoang@iaea.org
Mr Sunil Sabharwal

sunsab57@gmail.com
2012-2016
5 RAS7023
Supporting Sustainable Air Pollution Monitoring Using Nuclear Analytical Technology
Mr Andreas Markwitz
Principal Scientist
National Isotope Centre
GNS Science
30 Gracefield Road, P.O. Box 31-312, Lower Hutt 5040
New Zealand

Tel. +64 4 570 4785
Fax. +64 4 570 4657
E-mail : a.markwitz@gns.ri.nz
Mr Gashaw Gebeyehu Gebeyehu Wolde

G.G.Wolde@iaea.org
Mr Andreas Germanos Karydas

A.G.Karydas@iaea.org
2012-2015
4 RAS5071
Strengthening Adaptive Climate Change Strategies for Food Security through the use of Food Irradiation (RCA)
Ms Zenaida M. De Guzman
Atomic Research Division
Philippine Nuclear Research Institute
Diliman Quezon City
Philippines
Fax. +932 9259211
E-mail : zmdeguzman@pnri.dost.gov.ph
Mr Sinh Van Hoang

V.Hoang@iaea.org
Mr Carl Michael BLACKBURN

C.Blackburn@iaea.org
2015-2017
3 RAS6063
Strengthening the Application of Nuclear Medicine in the Management of Cardiovascular Diseases
Mr Orestes P. Monzon
Nuclear Medicine Department
Philippine Heart Center
East Avenue, 1100 Quezon City
Philippines

Tel. +63 2 9252401
Fax. +63 2 9510159
E-mail : voices4life@gmail.com
Mr Mykola Kurylchyk

M.Kurylchyk@iaea.org
Mr Thomas Neil Pascual

T.Pascual@iaea.org
2012-2014
2 RAS5056
Supporting Mutation Breeding Approaches to Develop New Crop Varieties Adaptable to Climate Change
Mr Liu Luxiang
Institute of Crop Sciences, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences
12, Zhongguancun South Street, Beijing, 100081
Peoples’ Republic of China

Tel. +86 10 62122719
Fax. +86 10 68975212
E-mail : luxiang@263.net.cn
Mr Ho-Seung Lee

H.Lee@iaea.org
Mr Stephan Nielen
Mr Pierre Jean Laurent Lagoda
Mr Karuppan Sakadevan

S.Nielen@iaea.org / P.J.L.Lagoda@iaea.org / K.Sakadevan@iaea.org
2012-2016
1 RAS7022
Applying Isotope Techniques to Investigate Groundwater Dynamics and Recharge Rate for Sustainable Groundwater Resource Management
Mr Muhammad Azam Tasneem
Head IAD, PINSTECH
P.O. Nilore, Islamabad
Pakistan

Tel. +92 51 2208038
Fax. +92 51 9248808
E-mail : azamtasneem@pinstech.org.pk
Mr Sinh Van Hoang

V.Hoang@iaea.org
Mr Manzoor Ahmad Choudhry

M.Choudhry@iaea.org
2012-2015